Stories from my school reunion in Bangalore

Or as Tushar calls it, our most expensive lunch

***

VIII G (1992)

Indian School Bahrain, VIII G, 1992

This is my class. I’m third from the left in the back row, under the eyebrows. Next to me is Vaidehi Natu. It wouldn’t be inappropriate to draw a heart around our heads. I was that much in love with her. Sad to say, she was in love with Ekta Bhatia. Ekta did give her a photo frame of Radha-Krishna (the deities) that said ‘I love you’. I could never compete with that.
I believe you can choose your heaven to spend eternity in. I would choose 1992 and class VIII G. We were all friends and If I don’t remember some names, it’s only because my brain has dimmed because of wishing fervently for 1992 to return.
This picture cost:
Rs 6,896 [Tickets for two, back and forth] + Rs 400 [A glass of Coke] + Rs 700 [A plate of cherry, cheese and pineapple starters] + Several reminders to Neomi who seemed to be the only person who had it

***

This is Navin John.

Navin Jon

Navin was with me in Standard III and IV. He killed my penguin water-bottle. Obviously, he does not remember this.

***

This is Rishikesh Yalanavar.

Rishi and Me

He was my first enlightened crush, meaning I was aware I had a crush on him. I will spare you the details. We used to be in cultural programs together and I always wished I was partnered with him. Unfortunately, my dancing partner was Vaidehi. My mother used to choreograph most of these programs. That may have something to do with it.

***

This is Tushar’s permanent pose of languid insolence.

Languid insolence

But he was the most charming companion. Complete strangers (my friends) were asking him the secret to a good marriage. Not once did he say it was beating up your spouse. He also gave up his window seat on the plane for me, twice.

***

This is the International Man of Mystery

International man of mystery

He was wearing a black trench-coat over a blazer and carried a black umbrella with a curved wooden handle and a black fedora. He had draped himself in a corner, next to his mom, begging all to check him out. The temperature outside was 30ish degrees Celsius. He was going to Kolkata.

14 thoughts on “Stories from my school reunion in Bangalore

  1. Who’s the cutie three places to your right? Or sixth from the left, back row. Why does she have a different uniform and do you have her number? Does she like dogs?

  2. NAZIA SHAIKH!

    WHY WASNT I INFORMED EARLIER? WHY? WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY?

    Also, Raheela Sheikh is wearing the coolest camoflage. Did not see her. Maybe because everyone else is dimmed by the radiance of Nazia.

    NAAAAAAAAAAAAAZIA ❤

  3. We met some ISBians in Chicago just last weekend and we had a huge discussion about how everyone had a different uniform.

    This is exactly how I remember Vaidehi, I could never make eye contact with her the whole time because her glasses hid her eyes, see?

    Wasn’t Nazia big on track and field?

    Prajakta had long hair? I had almost forgotten that.

    Mehnaz was an innocent little face. She had a cute brother too I think.

    Where’s Ekta?

    Eyebrows or no eyebrows, I love the way your hair looks in the picture, it’s the reason I’ve pined long hair all my life.

  4. Brilliant! I think I remember seeing this very picture in the school magazine. Might I be immodest enough to think I was one of the ‘student editors’ of that issue? I might be wrong… the brain cells go soggy when you turn thirty.

    V’s brother went to school with mine (brother i.e.). Hi V!

  5. KK: Ekta was not in our class, which is how Vaidehi made other friends. I think the uniforms were more like a general guideline — blue pinafore, white blouse: interpret as you please… Nazia was big on the track until Deann got on it and was sports-girl of the year or something. This is my in-between hair. I was allowed to cut it to shoulder length first and then to a blunt. I had to cry and promise my mother I would grow it.

  6. It wouldn’t be inappropriate to draw a heart around our heads. I was that much in love with her. Sad to say, she was in love with Ekta Bhatia.

    So glad I bumped in here (hopefully you are not annoyed that I did), but fantastic writing. I remembered my school days lol

    Ekta did give her a photo frame of Radha-Krishna (the deities) that said ‘I love you’. I could never compete with that.

    Hahaha, now well can anything compete with that? Probably a pack of dairy milks?

  7. So nice to be back on your blog after a long long time.
    Have been reading up all the piled up ones on blogroll.
    Back to your quirky sense of humour.
    Back in Mumbai.

Leave a Reply

