Closet Sweep: Day 28

Picture 005

Kurta: Like I mentioned on Twitter, FabIndia suppliers held a Seconds sale and I bought two kurtas there. This was one of them. I fell for the print and colour; the other one is plain white.

Picture 006

Churidaar: There used to be this store in Vashi that had the best stretch churidaars. Not stretch like tights, but cottons ones with a bit of lycra in them. I own turquoise blue, canary yellow (of course!) and bottle green. Since my kurtas tend to be white or ivory, I can throw any churidaar under them and look co-ordinated. This one is bottle green.

Stole: My mother’s coarse woolen, Kutchi shawl with real zari. As it had green in it, it co-ordinated with the rest of the outfit without impinging upon my brain. Thanks!

Shoes: Braided thing chappals that are on their way out. Speaking of which, if you are a shoe size 40, I have a pair of green braided sandals you could wear*.

Accessories: A wooden kada, a silver kada and a brass bangle. I usually throw in bangles intuitively, mixing colours, motifs, materials, textures and thickness. Since last year, stores have been selling such composites. If only I could have monetized on this utterly useless talent. Story of my life.

Bag: I use a backpack for work so that it can carry my dabbas, books, electrical accessories, wireless keyboard, diary and spare kidney without spraining my back. I keep this small sling bag at work, into which I slip in a camera, phone, wallet, pencil and notebook when I head off nearby.

I don’t wear Indian clothes too often, and don’t know why. Maybe because I associate them with religious and formal occasions, achingly long pujas and bad kanda-pohe. My default setting for such occasions is a silk or cotton kurta with three-fourth sleeves, and a churidaar. At engagements and navjotes, I’ll wear a dupatta. That said, I can’t resist chikankari.

*How do I have clothes and shoes that are not my size? Sometimes, I have to seduce a stall-owner before he allows me to take pictures for SaM. Then I buy a few things, feature them and the response wins his trust. Convo me at educatedtatya at gmail for a pic of the sandals.

2 thoughts on “Closet Sweep: Day 28

Leave a Reply

